happy rabbit

23 December 2010

I don’t do a New Year’s resolution, but I do make goals for myself; somehow, that feels like less pressure than a resolution. The recent issue of Real Simple had a great article on happiness and it got me thinking about recognizing and savoring what makes me happy in 2011 (the year of the rabbit). As it turns out, it’s pretty easy to do this. It’s almost as easy as being cynical and angry. The article mentions that people who are happy have better jobs, make more money, are healthier, and have more satisfying relationships; although, it’s not clear whether that brings them happiness or they have those things because they are happy. Either way, I thought I’d give it a go and list some of the pedestrian things that I don’t typically dwell on but actually make me very happy.

-This photo of Beau River, at 16 months

-Not taking the subway

-Oscar making the bed

-Not being 9 months pregnant (or in labour)

-Florida winter

-Beau dancing

-Not working at U-Save grocery store (my high school job–U save, U really do)

-Arrested Development (watching it, talking about it, eating it)

-My tattoo (and everyone else’s tattoos, unless it’s a swastika)

-Finishing a To Do list

-Key West (oooh, and key lime pie)

-No clutter

-Sharp knives and scissors

-Coffee, wine, cheese, and chocolate (together or separate)

-Having books around

-Whole Foods

-Beau’s scowl

-Thinking about Spain

-Christmas

-Former life in NYC

-Less socializing, more home

-Giving

-My sewing station (or, a dining room table, as my mom calls it)

-My Emmy’s ring

-Butter bell (people! room temperature butter at ALL times)

-West Elm catalogues

-Adding British u’s to words (double happiness if it’s followed by an Oxford comma)

-Symmetry

-Blogs (the reality television of the internet)

-Hugs from Oscar (elusive)

-My mom’s short hair (ah, a happy part of cancer)

-Stationery

-Drinking from my favorite tumbler

I am sure there is much more than that. Now go make your own list and bathe in it.

7 Responses to “happy rabbit”

  1. Judy Says:

    Arrested Development makes me very happy too! I just gifted that whole series to a friend!

  2. therobynnest Says:

    Don’t you mean favourite?

  3. Maggie Says:

    “It’s the little things and the joy they bring” – thanks for the reminder.

  4. Kristine Says:

    I really enjoyed this. I will have to make time to do this for myself too. : )

  5. Missy Says:

    I don’t make resolutions either, but pretty regularly make goals. I really loved this too! Taking joy in the everyday things is huge!

  6. zuluqueen Says:

    Good post. Sometimes I think people put off simply being happy because they’re too busy.

  7. Brynne Says:

    The word symmetry should be symmetrical.


Leave a Reply

