It Takes a Village

18 July 2010

We’ve only been back in the family compound for a few weeks but I have to admit, things are going pretty well. As a matter of fact, one could get used to this style of living. I am beginning to think it does take a village. Check back with me in six months to see if I still feel the same. I was dreading this transitional period so I am more than pleasantly surprised to highlight some of the salient benefits to living with mom and dad.

-Part-time FREE nanny.  Although not as hot as the one I paid for in NYC, someone who gladly changes blueberry and broccoli poo and takes kindly to screaming spawn.

-Cooked breakfast. Not daily, but dailyish. Top this off with an appetizer of freshly juiced veggies–I think I’m getting healthier.

-No rent. No mortgage.

-Skills tutorials. Mary Ellen has promised to teach me how to sew, quilt, and eat expired foods.

-Another set of boobs for breastfeeding. Kidding.

Yes, there are some disadvantages but why dwell on that?

One Response to “It Takes a Village”

  1. Kristine Says:

    It sooooooooo takes a village. Carlos is my village. Poor guy.


Leave a Reply

