Amish Guilt>Freecycle

15 June 2010

As I prepare for the impending relocation from SpaHa to SoCho (south okeechobee? I think I just worked it), I have a lot of stuff to get rid of. For some, this might be as simple as purchasing monstrous overpriced trash bags from Duane Reade and adding to the pile on the streets that my mom was so concerned about when she was here. If I only I could live that guilt-free life. When you are raised by people who reuse sandwich bags (the folding kind, not the easy seal ones), cut the mold off and keep eating, and only allow you to use one cup a day, you cannot throw anything usable away without a gush of guilt. So I knew I had to start this process six weeks pre-move in order to have time to freecycle/craigslist my stuff.

Freecycle is essentially a message board where people post things they don’t want or need and the only stipulation is that they be free. And probably legal. If I can’t sell something on Craigslist, I give it away on freecycle. You can imagine that in a transient city of millions, there is a lot of free crap. And a lot of hoarders. So I’ve been freecycling for a few weeks and it’s getting frustrating. Today three people were supposed to come by; zero made it. I think it’s because it’s free. People don’t care as much. That also explains the dog poop and chicken wings littering the sidewalks of my neighborhood that I don’t see when I am in, oh say, the UWS. What’s really awesome is when I rearrange my whole schedule to meet some freecycler and they don’t call and don’t show.

I want to quit. I want to throw my stuff away. Oh, but the guilt. I simply cannot. I have freecycled 25-year-old pillows. A breast milk storage organizer for the freezer. Opened bag of cat food. Broken television. People want your old, broken, crap. And so I march on. Since a yard sale isn’t feasible in NYC, this is my only option. Next on the dock: Christmas tree.

5 Responses to “Amish Guilt>Freecycle”

  1. Sunnylee Says:

    Really looking forward to more writing about Beau and her fabulous life. Since her photo captions have been all we got in the past, this blog should help with our addiction.

  2. Aimee Says:

    Are you freecycling anything Scott and I might want?

    I would be happy to pay for shipping 🙂

    Great blog by the way.

  3. Bryce Says:

    they don’t need your crap, you can pitch it. be strong. i threw away a Tupperware container last week; it can be done.

  4. Gwynne Says:

    Don’t forget that a lot of thrift stores and charties will come to your house to pick stuff up…for free! Though that usually applies to big ticket items 😦

    When we moved back from Tucson, I donated a big box full of stuff to Goodwill: tupperware, random cutlery, cheap dollar store crap that I shouldn’t have bought in the first place and other miscellaneous items (pens, binders, etc.) and they were happy to take it! I felt better about giving it to them than just throwing it out, though I have a feeling it all ended up in the trash anyway :-/
    Good luck finding a home for all your stuff…funny how it doesn’t seem like crap until you have to decide if it’s worth packing, dragging cross country and unpacking!!!

  5. Scuba Lady jr Says:

    Love the blog, but Oh Beau needs more posts and some pictures with your money making captions. So we can travel the world and you can write about it and we will never have real jobs again.


Leave a Reply

